Founding Members
Current Board
Past Presidents and Honorary Life Members
Past Boards of Directors

EAS has four principal objectives
  • To promote contacts between all involved or interested in marine and freshwater aquaculture;
  • To facilitate the circulation of aquaculture related information;
  • To promote the sponsorship of multi-disciplinary research concerning aquaculture;
  • To enhance cooperation among governmental, scientific and commercial organizations and individuals on all matters dealing with aquaculture.

The EAS General Assembly

The General Assembly has all powers related to the way in which EAS carries out its objectives.
The GA meets every year, normally during the Aquaculture Europe event.
All members (with the exception of promotional members) have equal voting rights, each carrying one vote.

Founding members

The idea for establishing the European Mariculture Society was launched at the occasion of the Tenth European Symposium of Marine Biologists, which took place in Oostende, Belgium, in 1975.
The founding meeting took place on April 29 and 30, 1976 in the office of the Institute for Marine Scientific Research (IZWO) that has supported the society and has provided office space for the EAS secretariat until the late 80's.
The original name "European Mariculture emsboard_april_1976_light.jpgSociety" was changed into "EUROPEAN AQUACULTURE SOCIETY" in 1984 to better reflect the activity field of the society.

EAS Founding members:
Dr. J. Arnal (Spain), Dr. J.V. Bannister (Malta), Dr. M. Bilio (Germany), Dr. S.J. De Groot (The Netherlands), Dr. J. Fluchter (Germany), Dr. ir. E. Jaspers (Belgium), Mr. B. Myrseth (Norway), Dr. F. O'Brien (Ireland), Prof. Dr. G. Persoone (Belgium), Dr. S. Von Boletzky (Switzerland), Dr. T. Vukovic (Yugoslavia)


Current Board

The EAS Board of Directors 2022-2024:

President: Bente TORSTENSEN (Norway)
President-Elect: Marc VANDEPUTTE (France)
Past-president: Herve MIGAUD (UK)
Treasurer: Damien TONER (Ireland)
Members: Antonios CHALARIS (UK), Diego MENDIOLA (Spain), Kathrin STEINBERG (Germany), and Daniel ZARSKI (Poland).
Student Representative: Mariana FERREIRA (Portugal).

 EAS Board 2022 2024

The 2022-2024 EAS Board of Directors. From left to right: Damien Toner, Herve Migaud, Marc Vandeputte, Daniel Żarski, Bente Torstensen, Mariana Ferreira, Diego Mendiola, Antonios Chalaris and Kathrin Steinberg.

Past Presidents and Honorary Life Members

EAS Past Presidents

1976-1980 Martin Bilio (Germany)
1980-1982 Guido Persoone (Belgium)
1982-1984 Harald Rosenthal (Germany)
1984-1986 Alan Jones (UK)
1986-1988 Hans Ackefors (Sweden)
1988-1990 Jean-Jacques Sabaut (France)
1990-1992 John Joyce (Ireland)
1992-1994 Bjorn Myrseth (Norway)
1994-1996 Michael Poxton (UK)
1996-1998 Patrick Lavens (Belgium)
1998-2000 Philippe Ferlin (France)
2000-2002 Rosa Flos (Spain)
2002-2004 Michael New (UK)
2004-2006 Johan Verreth (The Netherlands)
2006-2008 Laszlo Varadi (Hungary)
2008-2010 Selina Stead (UK)
2010-2012 Yves Harache (France)
2012-2014 Kjell Maroni (Norway)
2014-2016 Sachi Kaushik (France)
2016-2018 Bjorn Myrseth (Norway)
2018-2020 Gavin Burnell (Ireland)
2020-2022 Herve Migaud (UK)

EAS Honorary Life Members

Dr. G. Ravagnan (Italy, since 1981)
Dr. E. Monten (Sweden, since 1987 †)
Dr. Chevassus-au-Louis (France, since 1989)
Dr. E. Edwards (UK, since 1991)
Dr. P. Hjul (UK, since 1993 †)
Prof. Dr. T. R. Gjedrem (Norway, since 1995)
Mr. J. Bally (Martinique, since 1997)
Dr. C. Nash (USA, since 2000)
Mr. C. Hough (UK and Belgium, since 2010)
Dr. P. Divanach (Greece, since 2011)
Prof. P. Sorgeloos (Belgium, since 2012)
Mr. M. New (UK, since 2014)
Prof. S. Kaushik (France, since 2017)
Prof. S. Cataudella (Italy, since 2022)
Dr. László Varadi (Vienna, since 2023)

EAS Award for distinguished services

Prof. Dr. G. Persoone (Belgium)
Prof. Dr. N. De Pauw (Belgium)
Dr. Y. Harache (France)
Prof. Dr. S. Stead (UK)
Dr. ir. Margriet Drouillon (Belgium)
Gavin Burnell (Ireland)


Past Boards of Directors

Full details of Board members, Officers and National Representatives since the founding of EAS